1. This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.
    For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Cookie Usage page.
    Dismiss Notice

General How To Edit?!?

Discussion in 'General' started by tda, Jan 15, 2008.

1. tda

tda New Member

How do I edit the templates once I have unzipped the files? I am very new to this!

2. ishkey

ishkey Moderator, Logos, Sports Crests Staff Member Verified Member

Notepad works or one of the many HTML editors google to find one you like free or purchase one.

3. eVentureBiz

eVentureBiz New Member

Probably the most popular programs are Microsoft Frontpage and Macromedia's Dreamweaver.

4. tda

tda New Member

Ok, this might seem so dumb, but how do I transfer the info over to the notepad? I have extracted the files and now don't know what to do with them.

5. Graciella

Graciella New Member

Simple open notepad then click on File - Open and find file that you want to load.
    Then load file and it will appear into your notepad. Then play with it, save it and always make backup just in case that you miss something up.

Good luck

6. augsep14

augsep14 New Member

I see her/his confusion - I'm lost too as a newbie.

When you unzip the file, you are left with an index - a css file - images folder, with all kinds of images, etc..... So which file do you use? Obviously the Style sheet (css) needs to be uploaded correct? Nothing really needs to be changed in there, but what about the index sheet? That's confusing me....
    HELP?

7. augsep14

augsep14 New Member

Also, when I upload it, I'm using NVU - when I hit publish, it uploads text, but not the background, etc... I uploaded BOTH the css (style sheet) and the index.html - all I see is blank white page with normal text....the beautiful template with the way it looked is gone now..... anyone out there that knows what I'm doing wrong?