1. This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used.
    For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Cookie Usage page.
    Dismiss Notice

Web Design How do you make template expand with content?

Discussion in 'Web Design' started by showtime, Oct 27, 2010.

1. showtime

showtime New Member

So this is my first time with templates like this using photoshop. Ive made simple sites before in dreamweaver using tables and css.

Basically Im lost at how to do this. Im using the Nightclub Template. The bottom half where the content goes. When I put paragraphs of text in there the text overflows past the template footer. Basically goes outside the template.

An example of what I mean is [pristinehardwoodsonline.com]Untitled Document. On this site I used the background 1 pixel image trick to get it to keep expanding as needed.

Im not really sure how to accomplish this with photoshop templates. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2. showtime

showtime New Member

nevermind. I see if you use the template exactly as is in dreamweaver that it will expand automatically. However if I change even just the glow color from blue to red in photoshop it messes everything up. I get big sections of white. Dunno what the deal is there but its beyond my knowledge. Actually the photoshop file seems to have those missing white spaces even before I do anything when I preview in Save for web and devices.

3. enigma1

enigma1 New Member

And this is why you should be using a plain text editor to setup the HTML. Image related tools like ps should be used for design, not HTML creation.

It's pretty much the same when you try to convert an html document into pdf using acrobat pro. It's just not efficient and the CSS can be so complex the converter will break.

4. showtime

showtime New Member